[wpdreams_ajaxsearchpro id=2]

The Faculty of Physics

Prof. Lucian ION, PhD
Vice Dean
Lecturer Vasile Bercu, PhD

Vice Dean
Associate Prof. Cristina Miron, PhD


Department of Electricity, Solid Physics and Biophysics
Associate Prof. Petrică Cristea, PhD – Director
pcristea@fizica.unibuc.ro, pcristea@fizica.unibuc.ro

Department of Structure of Matter, Physics of Atmosphere and Earth, Astrophysics
Prof. Alexandru Jipa, PhD – Director

Department of Theoretical Physics and Mathematics, Optics, Plasma and Lasers
Prof. Virgil Băran, PhD – Director

Secretary’s Office
Gabriela Nitulescu – Chief Secretary
405 Atomiştilor Street, Măgurele, Ilfov, Romania, 077125

The Faculty of Physics, through its professors and students who efficiently collaborate with the researchers of the National Institutes of Research and Development in the Field of Physics on the Măgurele Platform maintain and value the human and material development accumulated lately, thus keeping the tradition of research in the field of Physics going, which was initiated by our renowned forerunners.

After a long experience, both didactically and scientifically, the Faculty of Physics of the University of Bucharest has been and still is capable of offering a superior qualification to its graduates, who often become physicians, researchers, professors in laboratories, in schools and in prestigious universities in the country and abroad. This is due to a long-term strategy adopted when it comes to elaborating the educational plans for all the specializations which exist in the faculty.

The first cycle (Bachelor’s degree studies) lasts three years in the domain of Physics through its study Programmes: Fizică (taught in Romanian); Physics (taught in English); Physics of Computer Science; Physics of Medicine; Biophysics lasts for 4 years in thedomain of Applied Engineering Sciences (the Physics of Technology programme).

The second cycle (Master’s degree studies) offers students 7 study programmes: Physics of Advanced Materials and Nanostructures; Theoretical and Computational Physics; Physics of the Atom, Nucleus, and Elementary Particles, Astrophysics and Applications; Physics of Medicine; Physics of the Environment and of Ecological Polymers; Optics, Lasers and Applications; Renewable and Alternative Energy Sources.

The third cycle (Ph.D. degree studies) are continued within the Doctoral School of Physics through the 7 directions of study it has: 1) Atomic and Nuclear Physics, Elementary Particles, Astrophysics and Applications; 2) Solid State Physics; 3) Physics of the Atmosphere and of Earth – Renewable Energy Sources; 4) Optics, Spectroscopy, Plasma, Lasers; 5) Educational Physics; 6) Biophysics and Medical Physics; 7) Theoretical Physics.

We are certain that the field of work will grow exponentially, while currently it offers positions which are specific to the qualification of a “physicist” as well as non-specific positions, such as those from the following fields: computer science, management, banking systems, biotechnology, medicine, nuclear technology, surrounding environment, unconventional energy sources etc. Someone who has their Bachelor’s degree in Physics and who has successfully gone through the experimental and theoretical physics courses, superior mathematics, computer coding and usage, special subjects from top domains of modern Physics and of some related sciences, will have an “entry ticket” worth all the interest in obtaining a future work place.
Educational and research activities for all educational cycles are held within the four departments of the faculty, which benefit from an academic staff with exceptional expertise both educationally and scientifically: 1) the Department of Electricity, Solid Physics and Biophysics; 2) the Department of Matter Structure, Atmospheric and Earth Physics, Astrophysics; 3) the Department of Theoretical Physics and Mathematics, Optics, Plasma and Lasers; 4) the Doctoral School of Physics.

The research activity of the teachers, researchers and students is held in the 9 research centres affiliated with the departments, most of them having a modern research infrastructure, which allows scientific cooperation with other laboratories and related research centres abroad.

Also, the Faculty of Physics has made a tradition of its collaboration with all National Institutes for Research and Development in the Field of Physics on the Măgurele Platform.

CThe professors and the students of the faculty are involved together with the researchers from these institutes in wide-scoped research projects, thus contributing to the international visibility through the scientific works published in prestigious magazines rated by Web of Science and by assuring at the same time the formation of human resource which is specialized in top fields of science and technology, ready to bring an answer to the requests which come from the newest and most powerful research centres in the world, such as the soon-to-be “ELI-NP” Măgurele Centre.

The Faculty of Physics has its own library which holds approximately 105 000 books, magazines and CDs. The library is connected to the National Physics Library, to the Central University Library and to the main fluxes of scientific information on a global scale.


Informații Admitere

Vezi mai multe >

Photo gallery

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.